MEETING OF THE SPECIAL TRANSPORTATION PROJECT ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR THE TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD APROVED MINUTES February 5, 2025

The meeting was called to order by Evaristo Cruz, Chair of the Transportation Project Advisory Committee, at 1.34 p.m., at 211 N. Florence El Paso TX 79901 Suite 202 MPO conference room also conducted telephonically and by video conference. Members in attendance were:

TPAC Voting Members Present:			TPAC Voting Members Absent:	
1.	Anthony Turner	Town of Anthony, TX	David Armijo	SCRTD
2.	Marty Boyd	TXDOT	Santos Lucero	Village of Vinton
3.	Eddie Conde	City of San Elizario	Ramon Cano	Town of Clint
4.	Terry Quezada	Horizon City	Harold Love	NMDOT
5.	Evaristo Cruz	Ysleta del Sur Del Pueblo	Gloria Ramirez	City of Anthony, NM
6.	Claudia Garcia	Sun Metro		
7.	Anna Zendt	City of El Paso	MPO STAFF	
8.	Daniela Gutierrez	City of Sunland Park		
9.	Robert Parker	UTEP	Anne Guayante	Regional Transportation Manager
10.	Michael McElroy	El Paso County	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
11.	Charlene Santistevan	Doña Ana County	Harrison Plourde	Assistant Executive Director
12.	Lorrine Quimiro	City of Socorro	Marisol Enriquez	Administrative Secretary
13.			Jennifer Moreno	Transportation Planner
14.			Nina Rodriguez	Transportation Planner

(Meeting began with 10 members)

- Chairperson, Evaristo Cruz opened Public Comment:
 - 1. Gerardo Fierro commented.
- Chairperson, Evaristo Cruz closed Public Comment.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

1. Consider approval of the minutes of the January 5, 2025 TPAC meeting Presenter: TPAC Chair (EPMPO)

Motion to approve the minutes of January 5, 2025 TPAC meeting made by Daniela Gutierrez and seconded by Claudia Garcia. Motion passed unanimously.

- Consider approval of amendments to the Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), Amended RMS 2050 MTP, and the RMS 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to program the *Montana Brio Corridor - Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) Feasibility Study* project using \$750,000 of Category 3 USDOT Rebuilding American Infrastructure with Sustainability and Equity (RAISE) Program funds in Fiscal Year (FY) 2025.
 Presenter: Andres Lucero (MPO)
 - Terry Quesada, Anne Guayante, Claudia Garcia commented

Motion to approve amendments to the Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), Amended RMS 2050 MTP, and the RMS 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to program the *Montana Brio Corridor - Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) Feasibility Study* project using \$750,000 of Category 3 USDOT Rebuilding American Infrastructure with Sustainability and Equity (RAISE) Program funds in Fiscal Year (FY) 2025 made by Terry Quezada and seconded by Danila Gutierrez. Motion passed unanimously.

3. Consider approval of an amendment to the RMS 2050 MTP, Amended RMS 2050 MTP, and the RMS 2025-2028 TIP to program the *Border Highway Connector Phase 2 Traffic and Improvements Feasibility Study* project using \$2,000,000 in New Mexico state funds in Fiscal Year 2025.

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO Executive Director)

• Terry Quesada, Gerardo Fierro commented

Motion to approve amendment to the RMS 2050 MTP, Amended RMS 2050 MTP, and the RMS 2025-2028 TIP to program the Border Highway Connector Phase 2 Traffic and Improvements Feasibility Study project using \$2,000,000 in New

TRANSPORTATION PROJECT ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING Minutes – February 5, 2025 Page 2 of 2

Mexico state funds in Fiscal Year 2025 made by Michael McElroy and seconded by Terry Quezada. Motion passed unanimously.

4. Consider providing a recommendation to the City of El Paso Mass Transit Board to execute the *Interlocal Agreement for Service Expansion* between the City of El Paso and South Central Regional Transit Agency (SCRTD), in accordance with the Sun Metro Service Expansion Policy.

Presenter: Harrison Plourde (MPO)

Motion to approve recommendation to the City of El Paso Mass Transit Board to execute the *Interlocal Agreement for Service Expansion* between the City of El Paso and South Central Regional Transit Agency (SCRTD), in accordance with the Sun Metro Service Expansion Policy made by Claudia Garcia and seconded by Daniela Gutierrez. Motion passed unanimously.

REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

- 5. Borderplex Safe Mobility Plan progress update. **Presenter: Anne Guayante (MPO)**
 - Marty Boyd, Harrison Plourde, Daniela Gutierrez, Charlene Santistevan, Eduardo Calvo, Jorge Reyes, Claudia Garcia commented
- 6. Adjournment.

Meeting was adjourned at 2:47 p.m.

The <u>next regular meeting</u> of the TPAC is scheduled at <u>1:30 p.m.</u> on <u>March 5, 2025</u>, the due date for submittal of agenda items, names of speakers, attachments, items for presentations, and Project Request Forms (PRFs) is no later than <u>February 21st 2025</u>, <u>by 3:00 p.m.</u>

Approved as to content:

00 Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary for the

Transportation Project Advisory Committee